Defender does a great job providing protection while online and downloading files. But viruses and other types of malware can get on your system via removable drives as well. Here’s how to make Windows Defender scan those drives during full system scans. From the Start screen type: defender and click the Windows Defender icon under the search results.

Now select the Settings tab, Advanced and check Scan Removable Drives. Then make sure to click the Save Changes button.

Now when Windows Defender performs a scheduled or manual scan, it will check USB Flash drives too. How do I set it up so that as soon as I plug in a flash drive it scans it automatically before it can be used. I have set up as above – it doesn’t apply to autoscan when plugged into my pc. I work with a lot of peoples flash drives and would like to do it automatically instead of doing it manually every time. Thank you kindly Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Set Windows 8 Defender to Scan Removable Drives - 59Set Windows 8 Defender to Scan Removable Drives - 3Set Windows 8 Defender to Scan Removable Drives - 11