RIM CEO Mike Lazaridis: “Since launching Blackberry in 1999, it’s been my goal to provide a reliable, real-time communications around the world. We did not deliver on that goal this week. Not even close. I apologize for the service outages this week. We’ve let many of you down. But let me assure you that we’re working round the clock to fix this. You expect better from us. And I expect better from us. It’s to soon to say this issue is fully resolved….” A system outage of this scale is never good for any business. For RIM, this is magnified by the intense competition it’s been receiving since the release of the first iPhone and Android mobile phones. With their native support of the Microsoft Exchange Activesync, if IT managers were on the fence about moving off the platform and over to iPhone or Android mobile devices, this new outage reinforces the need to get serious about rethinking their mobile strategy. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Day 4 of Blackberry Outage   CEO Mike Lazaridis Apologizes - 85